Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Review: Goatwhore – Carving Out the Eyes of God

In Music on July 14, 2009 at 12:23 pm

Goatwhore-Carving-Out-the-Eyes-of-God-Cover

Louisiana’s Goatwhore returns with their follow-up to 2006’s A Haunting Curse.  Carving Out the Eyes of God is successful in proving that there are still bands out there who play pure Metal. Find out just how good this album is after the jump!

I will be the first to admit that I initially could have cared less about Goatwhore. When I heard various songs from A Haunting Curse, I wasn’t interested. Sure I didn’t hate the music, but I wasn’t drawn in enough to go and buy their entire catalog. I basically heard the songs and stopped caring as soon as they were over.

That was circa 2006. Now here in 2009 I was told to listen to Goatwhore’s latest release, Carving Out the Eyes of God. If nothing else the title of the CD intrigued me enough to give it a spin. Well, after giving these guys a second chance, I am here to say that I am ecstatic that I did. Carving Out the Eyes of God is pure metal that just may be on of the top releases of the year.

It’s strikingly obvious on this album that Goatwhore love and respect true metal. The Celtic Frost and Darkthrone influences on this album are enough to make any corpse paint run with tears of joy. From “Apocalyptic Havoc” until “To Mourn and Wander Through Forgotten Doorways”, this album grabs you by the throat and refuses to let go.

This album is a machine gun of songs. Coming in at only 30+ minutes, you don’t have the time to catch your breath. You won’t find 8 minute epics here with constant pace changes. Instead your ears will be shredded by 4 minute attacks of evil that will leave you involuntarily throwing up the devil horns.

One other thing I would like to point out about this album is how all of the songs don’t sound the same. As much as I love metal, I must admit that a lot of bands suffer from having an album full of songs that sound identical. The songwriting on this album is good enough so that you don’t have to worry with this.

No doubt, Goatwhore brought the fury out on this album. As much as A Haunting Curse didn’t interest me one bit, Carving Out the Eyes of God made me a fan of Goatwhore. I have a feeling this album will go on to be their shining moment, their “Master of Puppets”, if you will. If you’re a fan of PURE metal, pick this album up as soon as you can. You certainly won’t regret it.

Final Grade: A

  1. I will have to check out this band. Most of the stuff that is considered “metal” nowadays sucks. I’ve read your other reviews of ”bands you should know” and I must say that the ones that I have checked out were pretty good. Can’t wait to see what other bands are to come.

  2. Glad you like the Musicians You Should Know articles. Thanks for the comment!

  3. Cool review. I agree with it 100%, these guys are awesome. This album is near metal perfection.

  4. I thought A Haunting Curse was pretty cool, but I agree with this review for the most part.

  5. Whoa, Goatwhore, what a name! lol. They sound interesting. I am always in the game for new metal. Will check them out.

Leave a Reply

