Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Horror Haven: Horror Releases for 7/14/2009

In On Film on July 14, 2009 at 11:47 am

Zombie

Another week is upon us, so it’s time to dig through the DVD releases and reveal the horror within. Sure it’s another lackluster week, but there are a couple of notable horror releases you should know about. Hit the jump to find out what they are!

rec

From Executive Producers who brought you Quarantine, comes the movie that inspired the terror. A beautiful TV reporter (Manuela Velasco, Law of Desire) and her cameraman are doing a routine interview at a local fire station when an emergency call comes in. Accompanying the firefighters to a nearby apartment, the news team begins recording the bloodcurdling screams coming from inside an elderly woman’s unit. After authorities seal off the building to contain the threat, the news crew, firefighters and residents are trapped to face a lethal terror inside. With the camera running, nothing may survive but the film itself.

As you can see in the description, Rec is a Spanish film that was the inspiration for the movie Quarantine. I also believe this movie was filmed entirely in “home video” style. I’ve heard tons of good things about this movie and I will definitely pick this one up. This is the pick of the week.

HiCBased on a chilling true story, Lionsgate’s THE HAUNTING IN CONNECTICUT charts one family’s terrifying, real-life encounter with the dark forces of the supernatural. When the Campbell family moves to upstate Connecticut, they soon learn that their charming Victorian home has a disturbing history: not only was the house a transformed funeral parlor where inconceivable acts occurred, but the owner’s clairvoyant son Jonah served as a demonic messenger, providing a gateway for spiritual entities to cross over. Now, unspeakable terror awaits when Jonah, the boy who communicated with the dead, returns to unleash a new kind of horror on the innocent and unsuspecting family.

Unlike Rec, I have heard absolutely nothing good about this movie. I remember being astonished at the amount of negative reviews this film earned upon its release. I am also shocked that this film just now hitting DVD. Even though this movie is apparently garbage, I will still check it out.

– Sadly, nothing else notable is hitting DVD this week. You have the 899,999th release of Night of the Living Dead hitting stores this week. No real reason to get this one if you already have a copy of the film (unless you want the free shirt that’s included). Also coming out (but not that noteworthy) is I Still Know What You Did Last Summer on Blu-Ray. No reason to buy that unless you hate yourself.

  1. Yeah I saw a show on TLC or some other channel about the true story of A Haunting in Connecticut a few years ago and it really freaked me out. When I heard there was going to be a movie about it I was really excited but after I saw it I was a little disappointed. It wasn’t a complete failure, but it certainly didn’t live up to my expectations.

  2. So you’re gonna post a review of Rec soon, right?

  3. Hoping to, yes. I am apparently going to have to order a copy online since I can’t find it in stores around here. As soon as it comes in and I watch it, I will put up a review.

Leave a Reply

