Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Review – Bruno

In On Film on July 12, 2009 at 2:50 am

bruno-movie-posterIt has been three years later since Sacha Baron Cohen introduced the world to Borat. Now he’s ready to show the world a different face with Bruno. Is his act played out? Is this movie superior to Borat? Find out after the jump!

Unless you live under a rock, I am sure you’ve probably heard some sort of Borat catch phrased being spewed forth at some point. While Cohen had previously made a name for himself with the Ali G Show, Borat is truly the character that put him on the map. I thought that Cohen did an outstanding job of pointing out the existing racism and xenophobia with Borat. In Bruno, Cohen returns to shed the light on the ignorance throughout the world.

If there is one word to describe Bruno it’s awkward. Sure, Borat had some awkward moments in it, but nothing like this. There is a certain scene with Congressman Ron Paul that will no doubt have you cringing at the crippling awkwardness within the scene. This proves to be a key element that makes the movie extremely entertaining.

Is the movie funny? It’s hilarious. I thought it was so funny that it almost made up for the disappointing Summer movie season we were faced with this year. Like I’ve said, if you seen Borat, you know what you’re getting here. If you haven’t, I will offer you a quick rundown. Cohen plays takes the character (in this case it’s Bruno) out into the world to create chaos upon an unsuspecting public. Hilarity ensues.

So, the million dollar question is, “Is it better than Borat?” Well, as good as this movie is, I can’t say that. It’s really hard to put my finger on what makes it inferior, but it just is. Maybe because Borat took me a little off guard, but with Bruno, I knew what I was getting into. And I don’t want to make it seem like this is a bad movie, it just doesn’t match up with Borat.

I would think that Bruno is one of those movies where someone is either going to really love it or really hate it. I fall into the “loved it” category. Bruno is a fun, outrageous, and revealing movie that will leave you laughing and crying over the staggering amount of ignorance shown within.¬† I highly suggest seeing this in theaters as soon as you can.

Final Grade: A

  1. This is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. I seriously don’t know how that guy hasn’t been killed by someone by now. I thought that Borat was better, but this was still awesome.

Leave a Reply

