Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

X-Men Forever #3 Review

In Comic Reviews on July 10, 2009 at 11:50 am

10 Claremont returns and infuriates comic fans everywhere with his latest addition to the X-Men Forever series. Of course I hate this book too, right?

(And yes, that image to the left is from the 2001 series. Just pretend that’s the cover of the current X-Men Forever #3).

* Possible Spoilers Throughout*

No, I don’t hate this series. I know, I know, I have read/heard many complaints about Claremont’s latest X-Men endeavor. I know the characters aren’t exactly the way they should be. I know the story is a bit insane at this point. But you know what? I really like all of that. I think it’s wonderful how Claremont isn’t afraid to completely screw up everything we thought we knew about the X-Men. If you’d like, you could call the series thus far a “beautiful train wreck”.

If you are a bit behind, the current Claremont storyline picks up right after the events in Claremont’s last run  that occured all the way back in the 90’s . This book has no relation to the main X-Men storyline and is just Claremont’s way of finishing what he started way back when.

Getting back to the review, I really don’t get all of the hate for the book. Like I said, most have complained about the characters not acting like they should, but I find this fresh and interesting to read. The fact that Claremont has the balls to kill off a major character and turn another major character into a supposed killer earns major respect from me. In addition to that, I also really like Tom Grummett’s art. It takes me back to a lot of the art from the 90’s and I love the nostalgia trip.

After the conclusion of X-Men Forever #3, I really find myself eagerly awaiting the next issue of this series. Is this the best X-Men book ever written? Hardly. Is this currently the best book on the market? God no. But it is something fresh and entertaining that isn’t afraid to knock everything you thought you knew about the X-Men on its ass. Plus, this is only the 3rd book in the series. With a bit more time, who knows what will happen? Of course, this is all my opinion and I’m probably wrong. Let the hate mail begin.

Final Grade: B –

  1. I haven’t read this comic, but it sounds sort of absurd–just like Claremont’s run on Exiles. Oh, Claremont. Why do they still let you write?

  2. Because the guy did some amazing stuff in the 70s. And when he was done with that, he wrote a couple comics too.

    HEY-O, DRUGS!

Leave a Reply

