Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Superman: World of New Krypton #5 Review

In Comic Reviews on July 9, 2009 at 5:33 pm

12067_400x600

Superman stands trial for treason in the latest World of New Kyrpton.  Is it worth a read? Read on to find out! *POSSIBLE SPOILERS THROUGHOUT*

Alright, I will be honest. This book didn’t interest me a bit when #1 was initially released. I really couldn’t have cared less about the storyline, but I bought it because I liked Superman and decided I would give it a fair shot. Turns out, this book has surprised me a lot. As a matter of fact, I would dare say that this book has pushed itself to the front of the other Superman titles. World of New Krypton #5 doesn’t change my feelings about the comic one bit.

If you are unaware, Kal-El and Lt. Nar are standing trial for treason.  Kal-El is given Dyn-Xe as his defense, but it becomes apparent rather quickly that he doesn’t need him. The trial quickly becomes a “chess match” between Kal-El and Zod. Let me say that I think writers James Robinson and Greg Rucker did a brilliant job with this. The “chess match” does a fantastic job of sucking you into the story. There is little to no action in this current issue, but it doesn’t matter. The court proceedings are enough to keep you locked in.

It’s so intriguing watching Zod battle Superman without lifting a finger. He realizes he has New Krypton in the palm of his hand and he can use this to his advantage. However, Kal knows exactly how to counteract most of Zod’s attacks. Really, without rambling and repeating, the courtroom scenes are just brilliant and beautifully written. I really can’t state that enough.

The ending will no doubt leave you with your jaw hanging. While I know I said there could be spoilers in the review, I really don’t want to give the ending away. For me, it helped to make the book, so I assume it would be best to let you experience it for yourself.

From a title I had no interest in to one of my favorites, World of New Krypton is shaping up to be a fun ride. While the focus seems to be on Batman in the DC Universe at the moment (and I love Batman, don’t get me wrong), in my opinion Superman is outshining him at the moment. Read this book!

Final Grade: A

Leave a Reply

