Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Review – The Midnight Meat Train

In On Film on July 5, 2009 at 11:04 pm

meatClive Barker’s short story comes to life, but is it worthy of his name? Oh, and don’t worry, no lame “meat train” jokes will be in the review. Promise.

MMT

Starring: Bradley Cooper, Vinnie Jones, Brooke Shields, and Leslie Bibb.

Directed by: Ryuhei Kitamura

If you didn’t know, The Midnight Meat Train was originally a short story in Clive Barker’s 1984 short story that can be found in volume one of his Books of Blood series. The story centers around photographer who is out to snap photos of the “dark side” of life. Soon he descends into darkness and his life is forever changed when he runs into “the Butcher”.

Anyone who knows horror knows that Clive Barker is a huge name in the genre. He is responsible for on the true classics, that being Hellraiser. So needless to say, when I heard about this movie, I eagerly awaited it’s release. As luck would have it, my local theater didn’t have it. Though, to be fair, that was probably due to the extremely limited release. After buying the DVD and finally seeing the movie, I am pretty happy with what I saw.

First off, I just want to point out how happy I am with how brutal this movie is. I often piss and moan a lot about the current state of horror, but I (thankfully) can’t say that with this film. The gore is a-plenty on this train. You name the kill, it’s probably in this movie. If you happen to be a gore hound, you’re sure to have your blood thirst quenched with this film.

The film does an fairly effective job of making you feel sympathetic for the characters. The character development is also pretty damn good. You can clearly see Leon’s slow descent into madness. Sure it’s a slow process, but once you get to the end you really appreciate it.

The visuals in this film are very slick. I am usually not a fan of CGI blood, but this film uses the effect in a very nice way. I really dug the effects of things like reflections in the blood, popping eyes, etc. I don’t want to spoil anything, but when you see the movie, I do believe that you’ll have to agree.

The only real issue I have with the movie is that I felt some parts seemed to drag on a bit more than they should. One great example of this is the climax of the movie.  While the “final battle” is pretty epic, I still found myself growing tired of it and wishing for a conclusion.

All in all, the problems I had with this movie are very minor. It’s a really great horror film that LionsGate should have pushed more than they did. If you are a horror fan or you just want a good scare, give this one a shot.

See? Made it through without making a meat joke. It was harder than it looked. Harder?….meat train?….shit.

Final Grade: B+

Leave a Reply

