Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Deadpool: Merc With a Mouth #1 Review

In Comic Reviews on July 4, 2009 at 11:01 am

deadpoolmwm01

Well, if you can’t beat them, join them. It appears I am doing that now by posting my first comic review. For my first review, I am taking a look at Deadpool’s new comic. *POSSIBLE SPOILERS THROUGHOUT*

In his new adventure, Deadpool is hired by A.I.M. to venture to the Savage Land in order to obtain a mysterious biological weapon. However, when his charred body is on Savage Land soil, he is greeted by the guardian of the Savage Land (Ka-Zar). After a brief conversation about Hydra and the package Deadpool is after, Ka-Zar points out a statue being erected. This isn’t any ordinary statue, it’s a statue being built in Deadpool’s image. The reason behind this is never really pointed out throughout the issue, but hopefully will become more clear as the book progresses.

After gawking at the statue, Deadpool is startled by Dr. Berry Swanson. Dr. Swanson is Deadpool’s A.I.M. contact and there to help him contain the package. It is at this point that we’re told that the package is a biological weapon. As luck would have it, the package is in a hot bed of neanderthal activity, so of course getting it will prove difficult. One thing leads to another, and we find our merc with a mouth being held captive along with his contact Dr. Swanson. The issue ends with the revelation that zombie Deadpool’s head is the package that was being sought after.

060409_deadpool3

All in all I thought this issue was pretty mediocre. Being a Deadpool fanboy, I may be a bit more gentle to this comic that your typical reader, so keep that in mind. I thought Bong Dazo (great name) did a great job with the art. I think it really worked and fit with a Deadpool title. As for the story, well, it has potential. I wasn’t enthralled with it, but I wasn’t bored to death either.

For a first issue, I suppose it did a decent job of making me want to pick up the next book to see where the story is going. I honestly don’t expect the book to get out of mediocre territory, but you never know. Pick this up if you’re a Deadpool fan or if you just want to turn your mind off for 23 pages or so.

Final Grade: C

Leave a Reply

