Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Review: Earth

In On Film on May 17, 2009 at 9:17 pm

disney-earth-movie1

I will go ahead and admit up front that this review is going to be difficult to write. I mean, how do you even review something like this? You can’t point out things you would normally point out, like acting for example. What would I say? “Yeah man, them polar bears brought the movie to a whole other level with their tour de force performance!” So this review will be a bit different than most, to say the least. It’s also going to be hard to keep politics out of this, because if you didn’t know, this movie could spark a global warming debate in a heartbeat.

Let me just start off by saying that I agree with the theory of global warming. You don’t? Ok, that’s awesome! I say that I agree with it to point out how the movie appealed more to me because of this. I’ve heard a few people on the other side of the argument claim the movie was completely unwatchable due to the fact that it pushed global warming down the throats of its viewers. I am not sure if I agree with this. What you have here is a movie that follows the lives of several animal families and their various quests. I loved the way the stories were set up to get the viewers emotionally invested with the families. For example, the elephant family in the film is on a quest to find water. You can’t help but cheer them on as they get closer and closer to their desired destination.

The film was beautifully shot. If you had a chance to watch the Planet Earth series that was on awhile back, you will find the same thing here as you did with that series. Getting James Earl Jones to narrate this was also a brilliant move. I mean, come on, what else is better than hearing Darth Vader tell you how a polar bear cub is going to grow up?

At the risk of sounding a bit lazy, I really don’t know what else to say about the film. If you like animals, nature, or Darth Vader you will probably enjoy this movie. If you are majorly opposed to the theory of global warming, you will probably find yourself letting those beliefs get in the way of enjoying the movie. That’s just how it is. I personally loved the film and look forward to future features from Disney Nature.

Final Grade: A-

Leave a Reply

