Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Review: Guitar Hero: Metallica

In Game Reviews on April 8, 2009 at 12:20 pm

guitar-hero-metallica-box

What is no doubt a wet dream to a gamer who happens to be a Metallica fan, Guitar Hero: Metallica follows in the footsteps of Guitar Hero: Aerosmith and offers a game based solely around (what I believe to be) the greatest band/heavy metal band of all time. As if you couldn’t tell already, I will be fair and admit I am a huge Metallica fan. So you might want to take this review with a grain of salt, seeing as how I might be a bit biased and such.

Following what seems to be an endless barrage of Guitar Hero games, Guitar Hero: Metallica is just what you would expect from this type of game. It’s the same basic setup and concept from Guitar Hero games of old, most notably Guitar Hero: World Tour. The only difference this time around is, you guessed it, the play list is primarily dominated by Metallica. Sure there is a side story where you are in “Tallica Jr.” and your ultimate goal is to open for Metallica, but like most of the “stories” in these games, you ultimately could care less about it, so you find yourself skipping cutscenes frequently.

As mentioned, while Metallica songs dominate, you can find other songs strewn throughout the set lists as well. I really had no problem with any of these songs, with the exception of Turn the Page. If they had planned on including that song, it should have been the Metallica version. As you can imagine, the Seger version can get a little boring no matter what instrument you are weilding. Another song I didn’t understand being in the game was the Foo Fighters’ song Stacked Actress. I don’t really get what correlation they have to Metallica. I guess it’s just an unwritten rule that every music game must include a song by the Foo Fighters. Even though I have these minor qualms, I really can’t complain a whole lot about the songs. The inclusion of bands like Samhain, Mercyful Fate, Diamond Head, Motorhead, and Corrosion of Conformity more than make up for a couple of duds.

The controls seem to be what they usually are in a game like this. Maybe it’s just me but I thought World Tour had some issues with the controls. Like I said, maybe that was just me and I sucked. Another thing that could just be me is how difficult the singing is in the game. Even on easy it seems like it’s a lot more difficult than in any previous musical game.

It’s pretty difficult to review a game like this. If you like these types of games, you’ll like this seeing as how it’s the same formula used in previous games. If you like Metallica, you’ll like this game. If you don’t fall into either of these categories, chances are you won’t care for it. I don’t see how there could be a middle ground with this. So yeah, let me just close by saying I fall into both of the categories, so you can imagine how I feel about the game.

Final Grade: A-

Leave a Reply

