Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Review: Race to Witch Mountain '09

In On Film on March 23, 2009 at 1:03 pm

race_to_witch_mountain

Could it be? Another remake has graced our nation!? Why yes, yes it is. In yet another remake, Disney has released the 2009 version of their old classic Race to Witch Mountain. Does this one stack up to the original? In all honesty, while I have seen the original, it has been so long ago I don’t exactly recall every single aspect of the film. Basically what you need to know about the film is that its story follows 2 children who come to Earth from another world. These two children befriend an Earthling (in this movie, that Earthling would be Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson) and then begin to run from an assassin from their world and (a more dangerous foe) the US Government.

I honestly wasn’t expecting much from this movie. I went into it not really caring about it at all, to be honest. Initially it seemed to be nothing more than a good way to kill a couple of hours. But after watching it, I must say that I don’t regret seeing it. Is this the movie of the year? Of course not, but once you realize your watching a family film that is primarily aimed at kids, you find yourself enjoying it much more.

The acting is what it is. I know that sounds vague and ridiculous, but no one in the film really gives a mind blowing performance except maybe Dwayne Johnson/The Rock/Rocky Maivia, whatever you want to call him. This man needs a huge role. I think he’s honestly a great actor and has enough charisma to play whatever he wants and do it well. I read a quote about him a while back that said, “Dwayne Johnson is an actor without a role”. I feel the same, to be honest. He does great in everything he’s in, but could do so much more with the right role. Everyone else in the movie gives the performance they’re expected to give. You’ll probably remember none of them. The only acting I had a problem with was that of Ciara Hinds as Major Henry Burke. I just thought he went a little over board at times and came off as something like a bad Bond villain.

One thing I will say about this movie is that it’s hard to find yourself bored when watching it. It honestly seems like it’s one continous action sequence. If you’ve ever seen a by-the-books action movie before you know exactly what to expect here. This movie follows that formula, which is a huge downfall in my humble opinion. There just honestly isn’t that much to say about this movie. It’s a decent movie to watch once. I imagine if you were a kid it would be more appealing, but I’m not so there you go. Like I said previously, I don’t regret seeing it, but I wouldn’t watch it again. I’d suggest saving this movie for a rent, unless of course you’re like me and want to kill time at the local matinee`.

Final Grade: C+

Leave a Reply

