Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Review: Futurama – Into the Wild Green Yonder

In On Film on February 28, 2009 at 2:37 pm

3270952709_d2eaf3687d_o

In a series of straight-to-DVD films that began with Bender’s Big Score, Into the Wild Green Yonder (seemingly) ends Matt Groening’s ‘other’ animated show that began back in ’99. In my opinion, it’s a shame this is the movie that ended it all.

I was a huge fan of the series, let me begin by making this clear. I snatched up all of the shows on DVD as fast as I possibly could. So you can imagine the excitement I felt when I heard that 4 movies were being made to properly send off the show. Of course, I bought all movies just as fast as I purchased the series. I found all of the films to be decent, but certainly nothing like the show. None of them were bad, but I wasn’t thrilled with any of them either. Into the Wild Green Yonder was not an exception to this belief.

As you may have assumed from the title, this movie revolves around a group of feminists/environmentalists who intially protest the building of a “new” Mars Vegas, which is being built by Amy’s parents (Leo and Inez). The leader of the group (Frida Waterfall) eventually has an accident where a piece of her jewlery is lodged in Fry’s brain, causing him to become telepathic. And with that, you have the basis of the movie.

In order to save time and avoid spoilers, I won’t go through every bit of the plot. Plus, in my opinion, this movie contains so many side-plots that it’s a bit of a mess. An example of this would be the relationship between Bender and his love interest. I thought the story was never really resolved and it keeps you wondering what became of all of that. There are a couple more that seem really thrown together and they’re never really resolved either. I’m confident you’ll see what I mean after you finish the film.

I also thought a lot of the jokes in the film fell really flat. I can’t cay I laughed a whole lot throughout the course of the film. The jokes here certainly don’t live up to the ones in the show. But I guess, like The Simpsons, after so long it’s hard to keep up the quality. There was also a lack of Bender and the Professor in this installment. As you may guess, this made the movie a bit boring. I watched this with a couple other people; both of them fell asleep about halfway through the movie.

One thing I really liked about the movie was the ending. I won’t spoil it, but I will say that I thought they ended the series/movie on a really good note. I found that the ending nearly made up for the boring movie I’d just watched. It also made me a bit sad because, with the official end of this series and the recent cancellation of King of the Hill, our primetime animation is sadly dominated by the painfully unfunny Seth McFarlane (yeah, I had to throw in that cheap shot.).

If you’re a fan of the show like myself, you’ll find the movie watchable. If not, you may find yourself bored/asleep like the group I watched it with. If you are a fan, you’re going to buy and watch this no matter what I say. However, if you fall into the other category, just chalk this up as a rental.

Final Grade: C

  1. So I’m picking up a pattern here of it being better to let old awesome things stay in the past rather than trying to make them awesome again years after they’re gone? The last X-Files movie is coming to mind. Although, to be fair, I haven’t seen it. >_>

Leave a Reply

