Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

5 Days of 13: Day One

In On Film on February 9, 2009 at 12:48 pm

wallpaperjason1024x768

As most are certainly well aware, this Friday is the ressurection of an old friend to the horror community. Of course, I’m talking about Jason Vorhees. As much as I’m firmly against any sort of remake, I have small hopes that this film will be enough to bring the Crystal Lake slayer back from the dead once more. In honor of his rebirth, I have decided to do “5 days of 13”. From today (Monday) until Friday, I will rank/discuss the movies from best to worst (keep in mind, this is just my opinion. No hate mail, please). Freddy v.s. Jason will not be included. All of this will culminate with my review of the new Friday the 13th late Friday night/early Saturday morning. So with all of that out of the way, let the festivities begin.

10. Friday the 13th Part II – For me, this is the worst in the series. Sure it’s the first time we’re introduced to the maniacal ways of Jason, but that really doesn’t stop it from being a total bore. I thought the pacing in this movie was really slow compared to the other films in the series. Even though the image of Jason with a potato sack is almost as iconic as his hockey mask, it still just doesn’t feel like the Jason we’ve come to know and love. I realize that most of the characters in every Friday the 13th film are expendable, but in this particular entry, this is more apparent. It still blows my mind that the tall lanky redheaded guy didn’t become a victim of Jason.

9. Friday the 13th Part V: The New Beginning – Admittedly, it was a little hard to rank this one as being slightly better than Part II. I mean, this is the entry into the series that infamously features the “fake Jason”. For me, what made this film slightly better than the 2nd entry, was the pacing. I thought Part V moved along at a much smoother pace than that of Part II. The characters in this movie are little more endearing as well. Plus, this movie should be ranked slightly higher due to the “pre-kill 80’s dancing” scene. You’ll know it when you see it. Getting back to the bad of the movie, the whole entirety of the film feels more like an adult episode of Scooby-Doo than a Friday film. The unmasking is poorly executed as well. Trust me, you’ll be scratching your head and thinking “huh?” afterwards. If executed a bit differently, Part V would have been a great addition to the series. Instead, thanks to a poorly made film, we get (in my opinion) the 2nd worst film in the franchise.

The countdown continues tomorrow as we plunge forward to the reboot of the franchise.

  1. Oh, shit. This is going to be pretty much great.

Leave a Reply

