Comic Reviews and Opinions For The Rest Of Us...

Review: The Uninvited

In On Film on February 8, 2009 at 8:35 pm

theuninvitedposter

Thank you, Hollywood! Thank you for giving us horror hounds the one thing we just CAN’T get enough of; a remake. Not just any remake, either. A remake of Korean horror film! Based on the 2003 Korean horror film entitled¬† “A Tale of Two Sisters”, The Uninvited takes the original and waters it down to where it’s nothing more than a seemingly stock PG-13 horror film.

The story centers around a young girl named Alex who is struggling to cope with the loss of her mother. Just when Alex thinks everything is turning around, as expected, things aren’t as they seem. Plot turns and twists ensue.

I know this seems as if it’s a huge cop out that will save me from the task of writing a long review, but there is honestly nothing good I can say about The Uninvited. Not once during the duration of the film did I find myself drawn in by the story. In addition, I can’t say that I found myself on the edge of my seat or remotely scared. I’ve decided, to make this easier, I’ll give to you (what I felt) was the good and bad of the film.

The Good:

1. It was a well shot movie.

2. The actors did a great job with the garbage they were given.

3. It was only 87 minutes long.

The Bad:

1. PG-13. Call me what you will, but I’m really sick of nearly every horror movie being released today having a PG-13 rating. To repeat an earlier point, this does nothing more than water down the film.

2. The horribly executed “scares”. Truly pathetic.

3. Most of the characters are so transparent, you’ll find yourself indifferent to their survival.

4. It’s another remake.

This certianly isn’t the most well written review out there.¬† I really didn’t know how to approach this review when “it sucks” was all that came to mind. Do yourself a favor and pick up the original (A Tale of Two Sisters) instead of this garbage. Don’t even rent it.¬† Better yet, don’t even download it. It’s not worth any amount of your time.

Final Grade: F

Leave a Reply

